In the News

ICG Publicists to Donate $20,000

Motion Picture & Television Fund and the Actors Fund to receive funds.

Steven Poster ASC, ICG National President

LOS ANGELES – The International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) will donate $10,000 each to the Motion Picture & Television Fund and the Actors Fund, it was announced today by Steven Poster ASC, National President of the Guild. These donations were made possible from surplus funds generated by the 54th Annual ICG Publicists Awards held at the Beverly Hilton last March. The ICG Publicists chose to make these gifts in honor of its members and sponsors for the second year in a row.

In making the announcement, he said, “I cannot think of more worthy and appropriate causes than these two organizations that benefit so many members of our community.”

“We hope to continue this valuable tradition of giving back to the community as part of our annual awards luncheon,” said Henri Bollinger, chair of the ICG Publicist Awards.

The International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) represents 7,800 members who work in film, television and commercials as Directors of Photography, Camera Operators, Visual Effects Supervisors, Still Photographers, Camera Assistants, Film Loaders, all members of camera crews and Publicists. The first cinematographers’ union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago, but it wasn’t until 1996 that Local 600 was born as a national guild. ICG’s ongoing activities include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine.

Entertainment publicists first formed a union in 1937 as the Screen Publicists Guild, later becoming the Publicists Guild. In 2002 the Publicists Guild merged with the International Cinematographers Guild (Local 600). The first Publicists Awards Luncheon was held in 1962 and has since grown to an event attended annually by up to 900 publicists and industry leaders. Many of the greatest actors, directors and executives have accepted the Motion Picture and Television Showmanship Awards and Lifetime Achievement Awards and include Arnold Schwarzenegger, Clint Eastwood, Julie Andrews, Harrison Ford, Sylvester Stallone, Carol Burnett, Kirk Douglas, Stanley Kramer, Joanne Woodward and Paul Newman, Bob Hope and Shonda Rhimes. In addition, the members honor their own through the Maxwell Weinberg Awards for publicity campaigns, the Bob Yeager Award for Community Service and the Les Mason, the greatest honor to be paid to a publicist. The Guild also publishes the Annual ICG Publicists Membership Directory, which is given out at the Annual ICG Publicists Awards. For more info about the #PublicistsAwards go to or follow ICG Publicists on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.